Volunteer Recognition

We couldn’t do what we do without YOU!

Second Harvest is grateful for each volunteer who comes out to help – whether it’s for an hour, every week, or once a year. We would not be able to continue the work we do without the support of our amazing volunteers.

Every year we recognize special volunteers who we feel have gone above and beyond in their commitment and service to Second Harvest.

Outstanding Achievement Awards

Outstanding Achievement Awards recognize the dedication of an individual or group, who go above and beyond in their volunteer role(s), demonstrates commitment and supports the work of Second Harvest.

Recipients: Gaurav Bansal, Josh Jensen, Reanna Maharaj, Kathryn Ellis, Karen Hardy, Ken Nakamura, Pamela Neblett, Yan Moore, Deborah Mitchell, Victoria Genge-Narain, Gabrielle Cotton, Judy Nusinowitz, David Kopel, Susan Wetmore, Amanda Chung, Chiara Switzer, June MacDonald, Wendy Job, Ravi Nagraj, Antonette Wright, Maria Park, Pina Di Leo, William Leung, Elliot Steele, Alexander Radovac.

Corporate Volunteerism Award

This annual award recognizes a corporation/business partner that has provided exceptional and ongoing volunteer service for Second Harvest. It has embraced our mission and has become a pillar of support to our organization.

Recipients: Weston Foods, TD Bank

Mike Kic Spirit Award

Mike Kic was a dear friend of Second Harvest whose willingness to serve and his commitment to our mission knew no bounds. No task was beneath him, no time was too early or too late, and no request for support was too much.  This annual award is presented to the volunteer who strongly supports our events and food/fundraising initiatives, in roles such as committee membership or event volunteers.

Recipients: Tamara Ramsey, Hyame Fadel-Jardine, Emily MacLellan, Andrew Patton, Mike Kic

The Ian Lawson Van Toch Outstanding Youth Volunteer Award

During his time with Second Harvest, Ian demonstrated outstanding leadership, and commitment to community service.  This award is presented, as warranted, to an exceptional young person or group, under the age of 21, who embodies a spirit of passion and initiative in their work with the community and Second Harvest.

Recipients: Voice Integrative School, Carter Ward, The Giles School, Sami Mendes, Arrabon House, Oliver Segal, Jake Grevier, Sarah Siddiqi